Grain Of Truth : The Real Case For and Against Wheat and Gluten – Stephen H. Yafa

Grain Of Truth : The Real Case For and Against Wheat and Gluten

A Pollan-esque look at the truth about wheat: meal or menace? No topic in nutrition is more controversial than wheat. While mega-sellers like “Grain Brain “and” Wheat Belly” suggest that wheat may be the new asbestos, Stephen Yafa finds that it has been wrongly demonized. His revealing book sets the record straight, breaking down the botany of the wheat plant we ve hijacked for our own use, the science of nutrition and digestion, the effects of mass production on our health, and questions about gluten and fiber all to point us toward a better, richer diet. Wheat may be the most important food in human history, reaching from ancient times to General Mills. Yafa tours commercial factories where the needs of mass production trump the primacy of nutrition, and reports on the artisan grain revolution. From a Woodstock-like Kneading Conference to nutrition labs to a boutique bakery and pasta maker s workshop in Brooklyn, he also finds that there may in fact be a perfect source of wheat-based nutrition. Its name is sourdough. For readers of “Salt Sugar Fat” and” The Omnivore’s Dilemma,” “Grain of Truth” smoothly blends science, history, biology, economics, and nutrition to giveus back our daily bread.”

Author: Stephen H. Yafa
ISBN: 9781594632495
Pages: 296 pages
Format: PDF
Size: 18.78 Mb

Download

More free books

  • Healthier Without Wheat : A New Understanding of Wheat Allergies, Celiac Disease, and Non-Celiac Gluten Intolerance – Dr Stephen WangenHealthier Without Wheat : A New Understanding of Wheat Allergies, Celiac Disease, and Non-Celiac Gluten Intolerance – Dr Stephen Wangen This is the leading resource for discovering your wheat allergy or gluten intolerance. For millions of people, bread, pasta, and many other foods are bad for their health. Thousands of people have already come to their own realization that they are healthier without wheat in their diet, but it can be difficult to figure out when most doctors aren't knowledgeable on the topic. This […]
  • Wheat Gluten – P. R. ShewryWheat Gluten – P. R. Shewry Bread, pasta, noodles ... some of the many ways in which humans consume wheat after processing has taken place. The gluten proteins of wheat grain, which determine the processing properties of wheat flour, have been the subject of intensive study for many years. The structures, genetics and functional properties of this unique group of proteins are the focus of this book. Providing a […]
  • Gluten-Free Gourmet – Bette HagmanGluten-Free Gourmet – Bette Hagman With her four cookbooks, Bette Hagman has brought tasty food back into the lives of over one million people who are intolerant of the gluten in wheat, oats, barley, or rye, or who are allergic to wheat. The premier creator of delicious gluten-free fare, Hagman has spent more than twenty years developing recipes using special flours for pizza, pasta, breads, pies, cakes, and cookies. […]
  • Grain Of Truth : Why Eating Wheat Can Improve Your Health – Stephen H. YafaGrain Of Truth : Why Eating Wheat Can Improve Your Health – Stephen H. Yafa A Pollan-esque look at the truth about wheat, with surprising insights on the advantages of eating the world s most contested grain You owe it to your mind and body to step away from the gluten-free frenzy long enough to do what s best for your own personal health. Once you separate fad from fact you ll quickly discover the answer: whole grains, including wheat. Most recently, a […]
  • Gluten Free Food List and Recipes : 25 Delicious Recipes to Successfully Follow a Gluten Free Diet Plan – One of the Best Gluten Free Books That You Ever Read – Ted AllingGluten Free Food List and Recipes : 25 Delicious Recipes to Successfully Follow a Gluten Free Diet Plan – One of the Best Gluten Free Books That You Ever Read – Ted Alling If you are going gluten-free, you have to stop eating pasta, cereals and bread. Gluten is a wheat protein that helps the dough to rise and maintain its shape. Gluten protein is a combination of glutenin and gliadin that can meet starch in numerous grains. If a celiac sufferer consumes food containing gluten, his/her immune system can damage his/her small intestine. Fingerlike and […]
  • Gluten : The Enemy Within: A Timely Expose of All the Lies about Gmos – Cynthia Gallant-SimpsonGluten : The Enemy Within: A Timely Expose of All the Lies about Gmos – Cynthia Gallant-Simpson A timely expose of all the lies about the deadly Genetically Modified Organisms in your diet. Startling revelations everyone who consumes food should be aware of, now! Whether or not you have read Wheat Belly...by William Davis M.D. Gluten: The Enemy Within is a must read. Finding your way through the avalanche of conflicting information about the gluten free lifestyle can be […]
  • Resistant Starch : Sources, Applications and Health Benefits – Clodualdo C. ManingatResistant Starch : Sources, Applications and Health Benefits – Clodualdo C. Maningat The discovery of resistant starch is considered one of the major developments in our understanding of the importance of carbohydrates for health in the past twenty years. Resistant starch, which is resistant to digestion and absorption in the human small intestine with complete or partial fermentation in the large intestine, is naturally present in foods. Resistant Starch: Sources, […]
  • Quick Check Guide to Gluten-Free Foods – Linda McDonaldQuick Check Guide to Gluten-Free Foods – Linda McDonald More men and women than ever are turning either to gluten-free or low-gluten diets for healthful eating. This book gives you nutritional charts for all basic food types, and lists only foods that are gluten-free. A detailed introduction informs you with-- Reasons for choosing gluten-free foods, with information on celiac disease and gluten intolerance Basics of gluten-free eating, […]
spacer

Leave a reply